Staff Image


Dean of Faculty

Dean's Welcome Address

Welcome to the Faculty of Clinical Sciences, Lagos State University College of Medicine (LASUCOM)
The Faculty was established in year 2003 following the commissioning of LASUCOM on 9th February, 1999. It was the Second Faculty to be established after the Faculty of Basic Medical Sciences.
Our Faculty is housed in a building named the “Glass House” and is home to Nine (9) Departments listed as follows:

- Anesthesia
- Behavioural Medicine
- Community Health and Primary Health Care
- Surgery
- Medicine
- Obstetrics & Gynaecology
- Paediatrics & Child Health and
- Nursing

We are looking into adding other departments in the near future in line with the training needs and health requirements of Lagos State.
The Faculty of Clinical Sciences since inception has been headed by the under listed academics as Dean:
i. First Dean of the Faculty of Clinical Sciences, Prof. Julius O. Esho (Ag. Dean, Feb. 2003
– January 2007)
ii. Dr. Adetokunbo O. Fabamwo (Ag. Dean, February, 2007 – January 2008)
iii. Prof. Babatunde A. Solagberu (Ag. Dean, Feb, 2008 and Dean, March 2008 – Feb., 2010)
iv. Prof. Olumuyiwa O. Odusanya (Ag. Dean, March 2010 – February, 2012)
v. Prof. Olisamedua F. Njokanma (Dean, March 2012 – February 2014)
vi. Dr. A. Adewuya (Ag Dean, March 2014 - February 2016)
vii. Dr. Olufemi E. Idowu (Ag. Dean, March 2016 – February 2018).
viii. Prof. J.O. Awobusuyi (Dean, March 2018 – February 2020)
ix. Prof. M.A. Oludara (Dean, March 2020 to date)

The Faculty (and indeed the College) has a crop of world class educators and heath practitioners who are primed to ensure a unique and fulfilling learning experience for all students during their stay in the Faculty.

We pride ourselves in producing world class medical graduates with the highest level of professionalism and ethical standards in line with our mission and vision statements.

More About the Faculty



To shape Tomorrow’s Medical Environment through Excellence in Education, Clinical Service, Research and Technological Innovation.


To provide a comfortable and functional environment, conducive for learning, Research and Global Collaboration.

Prof. M.A. Oludara
Dean, Faculty of Clinical Sciences
2nd March 2020

Faculty Events

SORRY: No event in this category. Please check back later. THANKS!!!

Past Deans of Faculty of Clinical Sciences

Sorry, no information! Please check back later!
Copyright © 2024 Lagos State University. All rights reserved.