Staff Image


Dean of Faculty

Dean's Welcome Address

You are welcome
to the Faculty of Arts, the Gateway to the Lagos State University. As you enter
the University through the main Badagry Road Gate, there you are ushered in by
the Law & Humanities Building proudly called the L& H building, where
the Lagos State University started at inception. You also see the beautiful Theatre
Arts Auditorium, which houses the Department of Theatre Arts and Music, where
the Lagos State University Drama Troupe and Dancing Troupe are based.


Currently, the
Faculty has seven Departments: Department of African Languages, Literatures and
Communication Arts, Department of English, Department of Foreign Languages,
Department of History and International Studies, Department of Philosophy,
Department of Religions and Peace Studies and Department of Theatre Arts and
Music all together running about twelve different programmes: B.A. Yoruba &
Communication Arts; B.A English, B.A. Arabic; B.A. French; B.A
Portuguese/English (Combined Honours); B.A. History and International Studies; B.A.
Philosophy; B.A Christian Studies; B.A Islamic Studies; B.A Peace Studies; B.A.
Theatre Arts and B. A. Music. The Department of Religions and Peace Studies can
offer both Combined Honours Degrees in Christian Studies with Peace Studies and
Islamic Studies with Peace Studies.


The Faculty is
peopled by staff and lecturers with great ideas and ideals, the hallmark of the


With about 3,566
students at undergraduate level excluding the elective or subsidiary category and
about 305 at postgraduate level with a staff strength of 100 it is one of the
biggest Faculties in the Lagos State University. It is indeed to the glory of
Almighty God that the Faculty boasts of producing the highest number of Ph.D Degrees
in the University.



More About the Faculty


The Faculty of Arts was a department in the Faculty of Law and Humanities at the inception of the university in 1984. In 1989, Faculty of Arts was carved out of the Faculty of Law and Humanities upon the recommendation of Prof Babs Fafunwa Visitation Panel. The Faculty of Arts emerged and it began as a two-department Faculty, viz: Department of Languages and Linguistics and Department of Religion and Philosophy.

In its efforts to provide the much needed real world skills that will not only prepare the students for a long and successful career, but also contribute to a better world, the Faculty has gone through various transformations in terms of curriculum and staff development. The Faculty has currently developed into seven autonomous multidisciplinary departments as follow:
1. Department of African Languages, Literatures and Communication Arts.
2. Department of English
3. Department of Foreign Languages
4. Department of History and International Studies
5. Department of Philosophy
6. Department of Religions
7. Department of Theatre Arts and Music
Apart from the various degree courses that the Faculty runs, there are also Diploma and Postgraduate programmes that are run by the Faculty.

Just recently, the Centre for Afro-Brazilian Studies (LASUCAS), with the support of Brazilian Embassy in Nigeria, was instituted in the Faculty. It is the first of its kind in Africa. Programmes such as Diploma in Portuguese/Brazilian Studies, Yoruba for Foreigners, Executive Training in Portuguese Language, Centre for CELPE-BRAS, Afro-Brazilian Know Your Root (ABRA-ROOT) have all been created to take care of the yearning population. The Peace Studies programme was also created from the Religious Studies Department in 2018.

The Faculty of Arts have produced graduates that are useful in all areas of industry and government.

The Faculty keys in to the vision and mission of the university and work to contribute to their actualization.

Faculty Events

SORRY: No event in this category. Please check back later. THANKS!!!

Past Deans of Faculty of Arts

Sorry, no information! Please check back later!
Copyright © 2024 Lagos State University. All rights reserved.